Robert Metcalf CMD

Robert Metcalf CMD

Bob Metcalf was re-elected President after the AGM in February 2017 having held the office for the previous year. He is now in his tenth year as a member of the Committee and has previously been the club’s Vice President. Bob holds the CIU Club Management Diploma (CMD) having been awarded the CIU Gold Medal in 2007.

Since joining the committee, amongst other roles, he has served on the Stock and Finance Sub Committee and has been its Chairman for some years. In this connection he has worked very closely with John Cochran now the club Treasurer and Mike Whelan, the Clubs new secretary and other members of that Sub Committee to ensure the fiscal stability of the club and to guide the full committee in its financial and management responsibilities.

Bob is delighted with Mike Whelan’s election as secretary and is looking forward to working with him and the other members of the committee in the future development of the club.

Mike Whelan CMD

Mike Whelan CMD

Mike was elected as the Club Secretary in February 2017 although he has been involved with the club for over 12 years in his capacity as a Management Accountant. During that time keeping the accounts, administering the payroll and meeting with the finance committee monthly to review the trading performance of the club.

He has been involved in club management for over 30 years and is a proud holder of the CIU Club Management Diploma, being at time the youngest ever holder at 21 year old.

Mike is very proud to be our Club Secretary and hopes to guide the club for a number of years in maintaining its position as the premier club for visitors on the coast, safeguarding the members’ assets, keeping the club well maintained and ensuring the bar prices remain competitive.

Management Committee as at May 2017

President Robert Metcalf CMD

Secretary Mike Whelan CMD

Treasurer John Cochran

Vice President Chris Dixon

Trustees Peter Dundavan
             Graham Robinson


  • Dave Beattie
  • Tony Simpson
  • Michael Powell
  • Tony Brewster
  • John Munt
  • Shaun Dundavan
  • Becky Ashall
  • John Taggart
Club & Institute Union affiliated clubWMCIU LOGO
Address: 128 Bloomfield Rd, Blackpool FY1 6JW
Tel:01253 344583